About the Institution

NMAM Institute of Technology was established in 1986. The college is affiliated to Visvesvaraya Technological University, Belagavi and is recognized by the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), New Delhi. Institute is accredited by National Assessment & Accreditation Council (NAAC) and all the programs are accredited by the National Board for Accreditation (NBA). Institute is placed in “A” grade by NAAC Bengaluru. Institute is certified by ISO 9001-2015 standards for quality education by NVT Quality Certifications (ANAB accredited). The institution has been granted Academic Autonomy under the Visvesvaraya Technological University from 2007-08.

The Institute offers graduate programs in 7 branches of Engineering – Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Information Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Biotechnology. The college also offers postgraduate programs like Master of Technology, Master of Computer Applications and Master of Business Administration. All departments have been recognized as research centres for offering M.Sc. (Engg.) & Ph.D. programmes under VTU, Belagavi.

The Institute is located on Padubidri-Karkala State Highway which is well connected with Mangaluru (60 KM) and Udupi/Manipal (45 KM) through NH 66 & NH 169. The participants can alight at Mangaluru or Udupi Railway Stations/Bus Terminals or Mangaluru Airport to reach the Institute.

About the Department

B.E in Biotechnology was introduced in 2002 to train the students in biological applications of Engineering principles. The plunge was taken being assured of assistance by sister institutions, KSHEMA- the K S Hegde Medical Academy that offers MBBS courses & the NGSM College of pharmaceutical sciences.

The B.E. programme in Biotechnology is accredited for 3 years (2018-19 to 2020-21) by National Board of Accreditation (NBA). Research has been the tradition of the department. Faculty members of Biotechnology department have received research grants totaling Rs.2.01 crore. Department has filed seven patents based on research work out of which one is granted.

The department is recognized as research centre under VTU, Belagavi and 7 research scholars have registered for their doctoral programme. The faculties are actively involved in sponsored research projects funded by various organizations such as Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India; Department of Atomic Energy-Board of Research in Nuclear Sciences, Government of India and Karnataka State Biofuel Development Board, Government of Karnataka. A pilot-scale plant for Biodiesel production, demonstration and information dissemination has been established under Biotechnology Department funded by Karnataka State Biofuel Development Board, Bengaluru.

The department is recognized as Centre of Innovative Science & Engineering Education (CISEE) in Biofuel Production by Vision Group on Science & Technology (VGST), Govt. of Karnataka.